top of page
  • Writer's pictureBonny

Building the Pallet Table

Updated: Feb 23, 2019

Let your creation speak to you, it knows what it is suppose to be!


Sometimes you just look at something and think, that looks cool..I can do something with that! Yet, I have no idea what to do with this...lol! But you want to do something with it, right!? Your pretty sure of that. Now is the time to let your energy and the universe guide you. Look at it carefully because wood and nature speak volumes. I bet it's telling you something. If you just allow yourself to step away from the picture for a moment...it will speak for itself.

Take a step back, take a breath...now, what do you see?

Sometimes you come across something that just screams...I'm a table!

And if you are really lucky, you may even come across a gem of a pallet like the one below. It's not the same wood type or color and isn't perfect, it's random. I think this is the moment that I realized...random...is awesome! I mean, if mother nature has already chosen the colors of a pallet for you...then you are well on your way to making your own pallet table. Boom! Paint by the gods if you will. Let it, the wood...help guide you. Do whatever the energy of the piece says it should be, it knows what it's suppose to be. You'll know when you see it. For me the pallet below was exactly meant to be...a table. Bada Boom Bada Bang...it's a freakin table!

You are only limited by your imagination. I started this project when I saw a pallet patio sectional how to online. It looked simple enough and I am all about trying new things in 2019. Once I mocked up my plan, I realized it needed a table. This Pallet has such amazing character and coloring to it, I decided to let it choose it colors. So based on my research online, I like the Kona stain and the clear honey tint stains. Let the natural colors come through while tying the colors together with the bigger project later on.

I am not even gunna lie right here..outside of the fact I knew it would be a table..there was no plan. I totally rigged this one and I have no shame in admitting it! I had never tried my hand at anything like this and wasn't even sure what I needed. I didn't care...I was willing to try it. If I messed it up..well..It's pallet wood. I have a fire and call it a day! I judged far to much!

The outcome and what I actually got out of it was an entirely different story. It's more than a table, it was my first step into exploring who I am, what I want and what is important to me. This summer I see a place to relax, entertain, take in the stars and reflect. If I must learn to live alone, I will indeed learn to be happy and tranquil!

This project took a little time but within 2 days, I have a new courage in working with power tools and a new appreciation for what I am capable of. I think this project set the stage for many like it to come and the power to take on the bigger challenge, the pallet sectional for my back deck. It's amazing what you find out about yourself when you let go of your own judgements. Once you give yourself to the process and realize that you are so worth the time, time to know yourself and find peace within, there is really nothing you can't do. I am sure there are others out there who have done a far better job than me but that is for their porch and my table, my creation..my time and energy..is well...for mine. I hope you enjoy this journey and I hope you too find yourself in your own creation!



What you will need:

  • Hammer

  • Hand Sander

  • Wood Nails

  • Wood Glue

  • Stain

  • Wood Sealant- in this case I used polyurethane

  • Reciprocal saw

  • 2 pallets- I used half pallets for my project


Now the fun begins

Once you've decided which you prefer, then it time to figure out how to put some legs on this bad boy. Before starting, decide if you want to leave the wood naturally cracked or if you want to fill in the gaps, you'll want to do this before you sand. The sanding takes the longest but you will thank yourself later. I have noticed that a clean sanded area took less stain and really made the table touchable. Be sure that you check the sides and edges for any staples or nails, most pallets are sure to have them.


My total sanding time for this project was about 20-25 minutes.


Sanding

Sanding takes the longest of all the processes. No matter what before you begin, you will need to be sure that you are in a well ventilated area and that you have proper safety gear. Gloves are going to be your friend here. Pallet wood has about a ton of splinters and one in the palm of your hand sucks when you are ONLY right handed...just sayin!



Stain? Varnish or Exterior Paint?

Exterior paint works great but if you really want a variety of colors to choose from, stain is the way to go! For my project I've chosen two stains; A honey light stain as well as a Kona stain. If it's mainly for outdoor use my suggestion is a good stain and outdoor seal. This not only keeps the color rich but your project from falling apart after only one summer. Or if you have a lot of drunk friends who like to spill beer,,,you know, whatever.

For a sealant I used Polyurethane. It worked ok for this project but for the pallet sectional..we're going with Thompson's Water Seal!


The difference?

I think the poly gives it nice gloss but can run a bit more expensive than what I wanted to pay. Went a bit more extravagant on this project but for the bigger pallet sectional..it will require a lot more time, energy and drive to build it. I want to make sure it lasts a while!




Cutting the legs

Making the legs was a new one on me. Not something you should do the exact way I did..it worked magically but not really carpenter approved.

With no level in site, sometimes ya just have to wing it!



Using the reciprocal saw, I cut pieces from a second pallet, I left part of the pallet from the top, keeping the larger wood ends at the bottom to almost create a L shape for each side. Looks more like a lame golf flag but you kind of get the picture. This is of course before I was introduced to a Phillips screwdriver drill bit, just me it's your friend.

Doing the legs this way did however work and give it a bit more character. I figured this way it would give the legs some support and help me figure out some stability. I want to make them sturdy enough to stand on...and I did. after attaching the legs with wood glue and drilling them tightly with wood screws, I stood on this bad boy and jumped and its still standing. NAILED IT!!


Don't sweat it!

Notice in the last picture posted above, the leg on the left does look crooked. The table however is not and it is very strong on that side. You can't screw up pallet wood so don't worry about perfection, it does not exist here. If its crooked so what, so long as your guest drinks don't slide off the table, I doubt anyone but you would notice. Take it easy and don't sweat it!




I honestly was't sure what to expect when I put the Kona stain on, originally. But once it went on, I knew then I had chosen the right color. The honey color, that was by happy accident, I had no idea that it would come out exactly as I had pictured it. I did 2-3 layers of stain and then polyurethane this piece with 2 coats. The second piece of wood split sometime in drying from outside to inside but know what? I dig it, so I am leaving it. Its still strong as hell! It's personality did indeed come out in this piece, as I said...listen to your creation.

It came out great and it is totally waterproof. The finished product looks amazing. I can't wait to show you what it will look like next to the pallet sectional.


The finished project:



This project really came out much better than I imagined. I doubted myself at first but once I got in to it and let go of some self esteem issues, it kind of built itself. I appreciate you following along with me on this journey. I hope you give this project a try- Don't forget to share your thoughts and projects. Until next time!

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page