top of page
  • Writer's pictureBonny

Farm House Log Ornaments


For real, I have to say this was the fastest, cheapest and cutest project I have done in a long time!


I have been working a little at a time at doing a semi-farm house theme for my decor this year. My tree has some really cool ornaments on it but was missing an Earthy tone and the Dollar Tree helped provide me with a little idea that turned into big eye candy!

In the crafting area at my local Dollar tree I found these tree branch pieces that had unlimited potential! You get a huge handful and with them being real wood, they can be used for many projects and they all will look like you spent money on them. Your secret is safe with me!

Originally, I just wanted something from nature to accent my Christmas tree but after a friend made me a nature present...one I love, I thought I would return the favor and make her something that fit her tree, home and gave her a little something to celebrate her first Christmas as a married woman.

I loved hers so much, I took mine off my tree and recreated them to match hers. So easy, so quick and really add a cute little pop to any tree decor!


What you will need:
  • A glue gun

  • Glue sticks

  • A bag of Dollar Tree branch pieces

  • Ornament Hooks

  • Decorative moss

  • An old Flannel shirt or scarf, Buffalo check fabric or fabric of your choice.

  • A Dollar Tree floral stick with glitter bling disco ball or whatever you choose.

  • Cup of hot chocolate..Bailey's optional

To start, bend the lower part of your ornament hooks so that they are flat and your hook resembles a L shape. using your hot glue gun, attach the straight flat end to the top of your branch piece. You'll want a pretty generous portion of glue to be sure the wire can hold the weight of the wood. Once all your pieces are glued onto the wood, you can go back and shape your wire at the top to fit your needs.


For whomever needs to hear this right about now..hot glue, straight out of a hot glue gun is freakin' hot Af ya all! I'm just sayin...Like finger prints be gone kind of hot..your welcome and blessed be!


I allowed the glue to completely cool before moving forward.Then using a smaller amount of hot glue, I attached some Dollar Tree Decorative moss and covered up the wire beneath it. I used a varied degree of moss through out each piece, I didn't want them all to look the exact same. Much like some of the other projects I have done in the past while I love the similarity in something, I also can appreciate its uniqueness. Together they are a set but separately they are little yule logs of happiness.


The bigger the pieces the more moss I would add. These are a few of the small pieces and as you can tell it looks like there are just strip of fabric on them but these we the first three I tried, once I got more familiar with the material i was working with I went a bit heavier on the design.


I took some round disco ball looking things off of a Dollar Tree floral stick and added one to the middle of the fabric and BOOM!


Freakin' cute right??!! It doesn't take much more than your imagination to have the Christmas decor you want, don't spend a fortune!


Until next time..make it yourself..you may find yourself in your own creation!



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page