top of page
  • Writer's pictureBonny

Glam Christmas Candles Under $5

Awesome Christmas decor in under a half hour that looks like it came from a department store! And you don't have to be rich to look like a million dollars!


Blessed Be everyone! Today we are going to talk about adding a little bling to your holiday decor without a huge ding in your pocket book. I had gone into a department store for a bit of the ol' retail therapy when I took a peak at these awesome, glam basic shiny candle holders. Simple, elegant and after turning over the price tag $59.99 of not THAT awesome!


DUDE! $60 bucks? I swear these days you have to be Oprah to afford a decent looking Christmas. $60 bucks, I mean its not like it's a speeding ticket or anything! I mean, did baby elephants make them in a monk Monastery temple in Nepal? I don't get it! The gems aint real, the gold...aint real. Um...they used a hot glue gun! No..just no! Not only am I not paying those prices, I think I can do the same thing with dollar tree stuff and that is exactly what I did.! Department store knock off..here we come! 5 minutes later and I saved a ton of time and money plus the results are amazing. Take that Oprah's bank account!


What you will need:
  • A Hot Glue Gun

  • Glue sticks

  • A roll of Dollar Tree Diamond Wrap

  • Scissors

  • A Dollar Tree Round Votive candle holder

  • A stemmed Dollar tree tall tea light candle holder


The Dollar Tree has 3 different tall tea light candle holders varying in height. I liked the idea of using all three sizes, I also used the same size flat votive candle holder for each. I really want them to be unique but have some match element that tie them all together.


While I waited for my hot glue gun to heat up, I took on the daunting task of removing the damned price tag from the stem light, its bottom and the bottom of the votive glass. Oh what fun it is to spite the Dollar Tree price tag!!! Once removed from the glass, fingers..pants..now table and finally and with any luck the garbage bag..cover the rim of the tall tea light candle holder with a generous amount of hot glue...Stick the round flat votive directly at its center on top of the tea light candle and allow to cool. I did this will all three sizes of tall tea light holders...I like the stacking effect the candles had and I it includes my power number of 3. I tend to do everything or have everything er...whatever in 3's..ok that's for another blog...moving on.


At this point the amount of glam your candles end up with is in your hands. I cut the diamond wrap horizontally to get the perfect lines on the grid. I mocked each piece up before deciding to hot glue small bits at a time, allowing the glue to slightly cool before applying it to the glass. Dollar Tree glass is actually pretty durable but glass can shatter at super high temps so..you know..use your freakin head and you won't have a bad time!


I like the idea of the patterns being different so the effect of the candle flame behind it will reflect differently then the one directly next to it..giving it a more glowing effect. I chose to cover the stems at the bottom and wrap each top the same. Putting the whole thing together to make it appear like its a matching set.

Put these together with some mirrored boxes which are just Christmas ornaments from Walmart for a super cute glam look. I did this entire glam Christmas last year, it was awesome but I really wanted to add them in the mix again this year and incorporated them in my down home farm house type Christmas theme and it worked there too! You are only limited by your imagination here. You could also through in a few small pine cones and some greenery if you'd like..go nuts, it's only a buck!


I use these all year around. The are stylish, elegant and really go with any decor you have! This project would be perfect for the holiday centerpiece, entrance table or on the mantle. It is great for romantic dinners and would even look great in a garden or greenhouse during the summer time.The warm glow from the tea light candles is soothing and gives a sets the right mood for relaxing.


I hope you give this DIY a try, if you do..comment below and show us what ya got!

Have you done a similar DIY?

I'd love to see it, tell me what you think or what you would do different?


Ya mean..that's it..that's all there is?


Yeah man...um, we are done here...what are you waiting for..go make one! What else do you have to do today? Go!


You can find yourself in your own creations!





8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page