top of page
  • Writer's pictureBonny

Outdoor Pallet Sectional Part 1

Updated: Feb 24, 2019

This low cost, easy pallet sectional is one of my favorite projects.

I started mine in the winter just before Christmas of 2018

and will be ready by summer.

Here is an introduction on how to get started!



Since moving here its been pretty lonely. I have a lot of time on my hands which means far to much time to think. I really needed to snap out of it. Then one day, I was online and saw plans for a pallet couch. Looks pretty simple... Looking at my back patio I was immediately all over this. I have plenty of free pallets to choose from at work and despite the fact I had never done anything like it before, decided to go for it. What's the worst that could happen, right?


This gave me more than a patio seating area, this project made me realize what I can do. It has taught me a whole new level of patients (this project takes time and each step can take days- but so worth it!) It has also allowed me to really see what I like, challenge myself to do the things I never thought possible and at the same time, I am creating a space for a summer time sanctuary. There are many steps to this project and lots of tools Ive never used before but I figured I will either make it awesome or what the hell...it's just pallets.


There is no level of ability required and since it is pallet wood, it's ok to screw it up. There is no pressure here and the only person you really have to worry about judging your work is you. Once you can get over yourself...the creativity and ability just come. Your going to learn new skills, learn more about yourself and mentally allow yourself some space to breath. If your heart is in pain...this is the project for you. Physically this is the equivalent to kicking my x's ass...without the risk of a vacation behind bars. You can take out frustrations and look back at it knowing you created something extraordinary from a dark place. Just saying but its just one more thing to be grateful for. There is a little bit of pride at the end of the day when you no longer feel the pain of your emotions, but instead the joy of removing that which no longer serves you and finding what makes you happy.


This makes me happy!


Getting started

What will you need:

For this project, its should go without saying you need pallets. Along with all of the projects on this site the point is not to spend any money...or spends as little as possible. You can get pallets in a variety of places, just be sure they are heat treated and fairly clean. You do not want mold of any kind or deep discoloration if you plan to use a light stain color. I got mine from work so I have a good variety to choose from.


  • Pallets. For my project I used 11 pallets total. 9 for the sectional and 2 for the table.

  • A reciprocal saw

  • A hand Sander or sand paper

  • A hammer

  • A hand saw or jig saw

  • Stain

  • Wood Sealant

  • A drill

  • Wood screws

  • Wood glue

  • Paint Brush

  • Tarp or area you can get dirty or paint on

  • Padding

  • Outdoor Fabric

  • Staple Gun

  • A big open space or well ventilated space, storage space

  • Grubby clothes

  • safety glasses

  • Gloves (which I did not use...lol)

  • Coffee!

  • Cushions- which is a blog all in it's self!


For the beginning of this project this is all I really used. A co-worker of mine gifted me a reciprocal saw and the drill....when I am done with this project it will look like I spent a load of money on it but in all reality, thus far...I haven't spent a dime.


First thing after you have chosen your pallets, is you'll need a plan. scribble down your idea's..I don't care if they are stick figures or not..

Start with a plan:


Once you have measured your space and know about how many pallets you will need and the design..its time to mock up the plan. Get your pallets home, set them up as you would want them to look at the end of the project and determine what shape you want, if you want to have backs on it..put it together before you put it together.


Clearly I am no artist, but it doesn't really matter, what matters is putting your thoughts on paper and creating what you see. At least with a layout you can kind of get a grip of what you have got yourself into.


As you see above I laid out my pallets to give me an approximate height and length for comfortable sitting. figured out that it could use a accompanying table. I fell in love with the pattern of colors one of the pallets, so decided just to leave it ol' natural with some stain but we will get in to that later. Clearly it knew it was meant to be a table! Measure everything twice, write them down and keep a notebook of your steps, this information will come in handy towards the end of the project when we talk about the cushions.


Keep track of what stain color you used the first time, keep notes on changes you've made and always measure one last time before cutting. It's pallet wood but cutting something more than once is frustrating. After you get into cutting pallets with a reciprocal saw...you tend to get the hang of it and it becomes fun. A plan book or journal is perfect for keeping track of your plans. You can take pins from Pinterest, print them off and have a visual of what you are looking for. Write down any links you find online. All of these things put together make for an amazing gratitude book if nothing else. Be grateful for your vision and respect your creative mind. Let your heart guide you and put energy into everything you touch. Do it for love, do it to build, do it for you. Your worth it!


Taking out the nails and sanding. This is where the work really comes in. This part is simply no joke. It's a great work out and if you get a stunning looking pieces of wood as I did, then it's almost like it's telling you what it's suppose to be. Just wing it, you can't mess it up...its just pallet wood! They have pallet busters that help tare them apart but so far I have found cutting them to be much easier and a lot less pain for my back.


Before you start, make sure your pallets are dry. Its very important for sanding and the stain later on. It does not have to be perfect but it does have to be dry. One of the first things you will learn about this project is patience. There is only so much daylight and each step of the staining process can take up to 24 hours to dry. You run out of supplies and you have to wait to get paid...yeah I've done that a few times during my time on this project. Ive always found another aspect of it to work on while I wait and at the same time it's given me time to adjust to changes, rethink some things and decide if I really wanted to add a built it dog bed!


This project is so much easier than it looks, I took a lot of risks and challenged my abilities. I got to take out some great frustration on some wood and was able to think without the confusion of the world on my shoulders. I am building something for me to enjoy later, a sanctuary of love and beauty. Now that you have a plan...it's time to get to work!


Join me in my next blog as I roll up my sleeves and begin implementing my plan. In my next blog we will talk about taking your plan..and making it a reality. Until next time....





2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page